Venator Sapentia

Go Back   Venator Sapentia > << General >> > Tech Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2004, 06:32 PM   #1
Togashi Yokuni
Eric Estrada Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 705
KVM switch question

Hi all

Any chance that there's some sort of bandwidth limitation when using a kvm switch? I can reliably drop my framerate in counter strike to 9fps when using voicecom, the volume knob on my keyboard, or swapping to see the other pc on the switch.

I'm running a p4 2.6ht with a 1024 of pc3200 and a radeon 9800 pro, which should be able to play cs at, oh, more than 9fps, of so I would imagine.

Maybe I should stop being lazy and hook my pc right up to the monitor, eh?

Togs
Togashi Yokuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 04:38 PM   #2
Klaget
Do your part, Rez a Ranger!
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hilliard, OH
Posts: 1,299
Send a message via ICQ to Klaget
Errr I guess I need more information. What type of KVM? How are you switching? ect?
Klaget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 05:53 PM   #3
Aazzelar
Ya I suck - NO TITLE FOR YOU!
 
Aazzelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to Aazzelar
this happen before or after my new card
__________________

------------------------------------------------------------
Dardo - 60 Hunter Argent Dawn server
Aazzelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 11:14 PM   #4
Togashi Yokuni
Eric Estrada Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 705
I've solved the 'problem', and it was only after

I've a logitech itouch keyboard, and it displays things on the monitor, for instance, when I trun the volume knob or 'capslock' key (which I use for voicecom), it would display, in large green letters and symbols at the bottom of the screen, what I had done. So, for capslock, it would display 'Caps on' or 'Caps off', and the volume was a slider display.

It never bothered me at all with my nvidia, but then, I had anisotropic filtering and anti-aliasing turned all the way off, and I don't have it as such with the radeon. Anyhow, I can reproduce the effect every time, and it never does it now that I've turned the display fuction off, so I guess that was it.

I did notice it when I used the volume knob, as I usually was stopped in a corner alone when I adjusted my sound, but I'm on the run when speaking, so, mostly because I'm absent minded I guess , I didn't notice that it was happening when I used voicecom every time.

Thanks though

Togs
Togashi Yokuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 04:19 PM   #5
Aazzelar
Ya I suck - NO TITLE FOR YOU!
 
Aazzelar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 355
Send a message via AIM to Aazzelar
well good to hear it's solved

one thing u should do if u havent is use a driver cleaner of some sort to make sure the nvidia drivers are completely gone.
__________________

------------------------------------------------------------
Dardo - 60 Hunter Argent Dawn server
Aazzelar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 10:05 PM   #6
Togashi Yokuni
Eric Estrada Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 705
Huh, never even thought of such a thing... I didn't think they'd be driving if there wasn't any hardware for them to do so. Can you recommend one from experience?

Togs
Togashi Yokuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 12:05 AM   #7
Malthar
Ya I suck - NO TITLE FOR YOU!
 
Malthar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 392
Send a message via MSN to Malthar
It is not the nvidia drivers. Mine does the same thing.
__________________
God gave me a gift. I shovel well... I shovel very well.

Malthar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2004, 09:20 AM   #8
Togashi Yokuni
Eric Estrada Wannabe
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ohio
Posts: 705
Good to know I'm not alone on this one then

Togs
Togashi Yokuni is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Networking simulation question Faeyn Tech Forum 13 06-21-2002 08:57 PM
MB and Graphics card question for yall Yazule General Forum 5 05-25-2001 07:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.